Skip to content ↓

Dogsthorpe Academy

About us


I am privileged to be the Principal of the Dogsthorpe Academy. Education at Key Stage 2 is what we do best. 

The Dogsthorpe Junior Academy serves a diverse community .Our pupils are safe and happy and they get on well with each other.

We value respect, honesty and resilience in all that we do.
Our vision is to inspire our children throughout their learning journey at Dogsthorpe Academy to enjoy learning and to achieve success through working together.

We offer a well -developed programme of learning opportunities which includes personal and social skills to support the children in their next steps.

Our staff are a hard working team who provide engaging learning opportunities and experiences. We are a specialist in the teaching and learning of Junior aged children. Our curriculum is planned for children to develop the knowledge and skills to understand the world around them and to prepare them for the next stage of their education.  We enthuse and engage children, developing their curiosity to become independent learners with  confidence and positive attitudes. 

We work closely with parents and carers. We value the support that parents and carers  provide; we see them as partners in a child’s education. Parents and carers are encouraged to contact the Academy if there are any concerns.

We believe in listening to our pupils and there are many ways that pupils can be involved and contribute to Academy life. We have an Academy Council, Head boy and girl, a range of ambassadors, Sports leaders and House captains. There are also a range of extra-curricular activities where children can take part in clubs at lunchtime or after school.

We are fortunate to be part of the Greenwood Academy Trust who provide us with support and collaboration.

Please contact the Academy if you have any questions or would like to visit.

Mrs J Cranke

“The Academy is sponsored by the Greenwood Academies Trust (GAT) who currently has 37 open academies educating over 18,000 pupils across seven local authority areas including Nottingham City, Nottinghamshire, Leicester City, West Northamptonshire, North Northamptonshire, Peterborough, and Lincolnshire.”

To find out more about the Trust click here.